## Regular Board Meeting of the Jackson Public School District

October 15, 2024, at 05:30 PM

Board	l Present

Dr. Ed Sivak, Jr., Board President

Barbara Hilliwindloiam Merritt, Unchief of Staff

Dr. Michael Conmack, Deputy Supt.

Earl Burke, CFOO

0,187(6
: Dr. Sivak, Board President, called the Board Meeting of the Jackson strict to order on October 15, 2024, at 5:31 P.M.
t of Quorum: A quorum was established when all six (6) members, namely M. Hairston, Cynthia Thompson, and Barbara Hilliard, attended the n. Mitch McGuffey and Frank Figgers arrived at 5:37 p.m.
Agenda: The Board voted to adopt the agenda as presented; motion by seconded by Barbara Hilliard, votes cast for the motion: Dr. Sivak, Barbara Hilliard, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the PASSED
Approving Minutes
24, Regular Board Meeting Minutes: The Board voted to approve item a. moved; Cynthia Thompson seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed hompson, Barbara Hilliard, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against none. PASSED
t's Report: Dr. Greene presented his report.
cipation for Genera <u>l Comments and/ or Prop</u> osed Issues: None.
Items Only:
Reporte Survey
thly Update August <u>16, 2024 - Septembe</u> r 15, 2024
ious Policies for Amendment I GADEB: Donated Leave, IGC/JBR: raments; and for De <u>letion I IGC/JBR: Certificate of Completion for</u> am (Pol cy & Procedures): Policy GADEB (Donated Leave) was tabled for

## VIII. Information/ Action Items:

A. Resolution of Conflict-of-Interest Disclosure of Attorney Rel ted to Sale of

Chastain Middle School: The Board voted to approve item a. Mitch McGuffey moved;

Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Frank

Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Barbara Hilliard, and Jeanne Omon Hairsted; Jeates cast a feast ded; ca

against the motion were none. PASSED

fmo

- B. Approval of the Agreement between Universal Firstcom Music and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item b. Barbara Hilliard moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Barbara Hilliard, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion were none. PASSED
- C. Approval of the Rental. Agreement between Advantage Business Systems (Konica Minolta AccurioPress C-470) and the Jackson Public School District (JPSDI: The Board voted to approve item c. Barbara Hilliard moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Barbara Hilliard, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion were none. PASSED
- D. Approval of the Agreement between University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Nursing ("UMMC") and the Jackson Public School District {JPSD}: The Board voted to approve item d. Barbara Hilliard moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Barbara Hilliard, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion were none. PASSED
- E. Approval of the Agreement between the Community Foundation for Mississippi and the Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board vo·ted to approve item e. Barbara Hilliard moved; Frank Figgers seconded; votes cast for the motion were Ed Sivak, Mitch McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson, Barbara Hilliard, and Jeanne M. Hairston; votes cast against the motion were none. PASSED
- F. Approval of the Renewal Agreement between Mississippi State University (MSO) the

  Jackson Public School District (JPSD): The Board voted to approve item f. Barbara

  Hilliard moved in Frank Figgers seconded; votes for phearmation were Ed Sivers Sa d;

  McGuffey, Frank Figgers, Cynthia Thompson Barbara Hilliard, and Jerstyn Missers sa d;

  votes Mast Board t c h "

J. Request to AW'ard RFP 2024-	15 - Energy Savings	Performance Contrac	cting Serv:i.ces: The
Board voted to approve item j			
	Sivak, Mitch McGuffe		nthia Thompson,
	M. Hairston; votes	cast against the mot	ion were none.
K. Approval of the Cancellati	on of the Sixteenth	Section Lease Agree	ment between

appeal, and (2) to receive an update regarding potential legal claims arising out of Entergy's close-out of Lake Hico. The motion was unanimously approved.

In Executive Session: The Board took up the superintendent's recommendation to

Signature of Board President

Ed Sivak

A 1 1 mosquolTr sidtrnyo hrstaroge 1 Nov 2024

7 NN 2024

## ORDER UPHOLD I G RECOMME DATION OF TERMINATION OF OUANESHA MURRAY

In accordance with Miss. Code Ann. Sections 37-9-59 and 37-9-1 11. the Board granted Ms. Quanesba Murray ("Murray") an opportunity to make a statement on her behalf prior to the Board making a final decision on the superintendent's recommendation of termination of Murray for her involvement in testing security violations during the Spring 2023 MAAP Assessment. Murray was represented by Attorney Carlos Tanner in her termination proceedings; however. neither Murray nor her attorney appeared before the Board to make a statement on her behalf. The Board had also previously reviewed the transcript of the hearing and read the hearing officer's report submitted by Nathaniel Armistad, Esg.

During its deliberations, the Board determined that Murray exhibited unprofessional conduct when she improperly assisted scholars and failed to report testing irregularities during the Spring 2023 MAAP Assessment. The Board also determined there was credible evidence that Murray knowingly viofated District and MDE policies. Murray's explanations, and excuses, as noted in the transcript, were unacceptable and her involvement in the testing irregularities at McLeod and failure to follow District and MDE policies justified her termination.

After discussion, Dr. Jeanne M. Hairston moved, and Mr. Mitch McGuffey, Esq. seconded, the motion to uphold the Superintendent's recommendation of termination of Mur<sup>r</sup>ay.

The question being put to a vote, the result was as follows:

BOARD MEMBER:	<u>VOTED:</u>	
Dr Jeanne M. Ha:iTston	Aye	
Dr. Ed Sivak	Aye	
Mrs. Barbara Hilliard	Aye	
Mrs. Cynthia Thompson	Aye	
Mr. Mitch McGuffey, Esg.	Aye	Λ
Mr. Frank Figgers	Aye	//
	<u>_</u>	